Click to Home

Go To Search
New District Lines
To keep up with changes and movements of populations, the district lines of elected offices are redrawn every 10 years based on new data compiled by the U.S. Census Bureau. The process of redrawing district lines in California went through a historic change in the last three years. Voter-approved Proposition 11 moved the function of redistricting from the Legislature and the Governor to a newly created 14-member Citizens Redistricting Commission (Commission).

After conducting a public process, Commission approved new district maps on August 15, 2011. The Commission's Senate maps were upheld by the courts after being challenged.

The new district maps will be used for the 2012 elections in June and November. Beginning in December 2012, El Cerrito will move from SD 7 to the new Ninth Senate District (SD 9).

See map of the new Ninth Senate District.

Senator Loni Hancock (D-Berkeley) currently represents the area that will become SD 9.  Between now and December 2012, El Cerrito will continue to be represented by Senator Mark DeSaulnier.

Go to the Legislative Representatives Page for contact information for El Cerrito's current representatives.

A referendum challenging the Commission’s State Senate maps has qualified for the November ballot. If the referendum passes, the Commission's Senate lines will be deemed ratified by the voters and will be used until the next redistricting cycle is completed in 2021.If the referendum fails, the California Supreme Court will then assume jurisdiction and appoint Special Masters to draw new lines that will be used starting in 2014 until the next redistricting cycle is completed in 2021.